More about Miss Caroline

So I introduced you to Caroline as a pregnant cat.

And then I told you that she actually wasn’t pregnant.

Did you know that vets don’t take a blood test to determine if a cat is pregnant?  They palpate the abdomen for the initial diagnosis.  It’s only late in the pregnancy that a radiograph is performed (sometimes) to determine the number of kittens that the mama kitty is expecting.  Gestation period for a kitty is about 9 weeks.

Am I disappointed that I won’t actually get to have a newborn litter of kittens to foster?  Sure.  But I am much more relieved than disappointed.  What I didn’t mention when I initially introduced Caroline is that she is suffering from a WRETCHED upper respiratory infection.  She had been on 4 weeks of antibiotics when she arrived at our house.  The particular antibiotics she was on did not seem to be helping her, but they were the only safe ones for a pregnant kitty.  The good news about her not being pregnant is that we have finally started her on stronger antibiotics!  I hope these new antibiotics clear up this infection.  She has more light brown, opaque snot come out of her nose than I ever would have thought possible.  She sneezes it EVERYWHERE.  Water dish, food dish, pillow, blankets.  You name it, she’s gotten snot all over it.  She struggles to breathe and has a hard time eating because she can’t breathe out of her nose.  It’s painful to watch.  I can’t wait for her to start getting some relief!

A few more pictures of our sweet little Caroline.  She is gentle and sweet.  She greets me at the door every time I visit and can’t seem to get enough neck scratches and belly rubs.  She has no interest in all the toys I offer her.  She just wants love and affection.  Whatever family adopts this little angel will be VERY lucky to have her.

4 Comments

Filed under Caroline

4 responses to “More about Miss Caroline

  1. Sara

    What an adorable kitty! I hope she feels better soon!

  2. Pingback: Caroline Update | The Kitty Party

  3. Pingback: Cookie seems to be better (Finally). | The Kitty Party

  4. Pingback: Caroline’s Surgery: Part 1 | The Kitty Party

Leave a Reply

