JAILBREAK! Continued…

**My SINCERE apologies for the lack of updates this past week!!  I have a lot to catch you up on, but let’s first start with the continuation of the JAILBREAK that happened 2 weeks ago.**

When I saw the foster room door open, I immediately had a suspect in mind as to who opened the door.

Henry.

Why did I think this?  Mostly because he spends most of his time at the foster room door playing footsie and passing toys back and forth with the four boys in the foster room.

I decided that the little guy deserved an opportunity to defend himself.  Here’s how the conversation went:

Me: Henry, do you have any idea how the fosters got out of their room?

Henry: Why are you asking me??

Henry: I certainly have no idea what you’re talking about.

Me: Henry, you’re constantly at their door playing footsie and sharing toys.  You’re the only cat in this house who pays any attention to the foster room.

Henry: Hmmm… I see your point.  But you have no proof!

Me: Henry, I’m your mom.  I don’t need proof.  I just KNOW.

Henry: I’m being unfairly accused.  Just because I’m friendly doesn’t mean I’m desperate enough to risk getting in trouble just to play with them!  I have a sister I can torture, for gosh sakes.

Me: Henry, do you know why those kittens are isolated in the foster room?

Henry: Because you’re worried more cats loose in the house will stress Cookie out?

Me: Because they have MITES!

Henry: MITES?!?!?!  Why didn’t you TELL ME THAT?!?!?!  You know, now that you mention it, my ears are kind of itchy…..

Me: Henry, I was hoping I wouldn’t have to explain it.  I was hoping you would just respect the boundaries I set for you.

Henry (giving the Puss n’ Boots eyes that he’s mastered): But mom….I just wanted to be their friend.  And make sure they weren’t lonely.

Henry: Do you think it would be okay if I played with them once they’re all better?  Please??

Henry (more Puss n boots eyes): PLEASE?!?!!?!

Me: Sure, Henry.  That would be okay.  You just need to be patient.

Me: And promise you won’t break into room again.

Henry then showed his true sign of agreement-he rolled over onto his back for belly rubs.

As frustrating as it was to have to chase down all 4 of the fosters and worry about my resident cats being exposed to mites, I am just glad to have such a friendly, sweet kitten in my home.  He’s the opposite of Cookie Monster.  He’s friendly with other cats, docile and laid back.  I hope his behavior with these fosters is a sign of the future-that he’ll be willing to help socialize future fosters and show them the ways of being a great family cat!

2 Comments

Filed under Henry

2 responses to “JAILBREAK! Continued…

  1. Sara

    What a sweet kitten! I have two foster kittens in our office and they are playing footsies with our residents cats. I totally get it!

  2. Pingback: Wrongly Convicted. | The Kitty Party

Leave a Reply

